Innocent Love

© Hiya Grover

The road lay flat cradling the dead
With death grasping on so very tight
The wind pinching the skin of my face
And the sun unable to give any more light

Poor thing oh dog
It’s all just my fault
I should have made him stay
I should have made him halt

I have to get hold of my speeding breath
And accept the fact that he is no more
I have to go and pick him up
I have to bring him back to my ghostly door

Stop being the shivering mouse in an earthquake
Getting up with all my might
Walking across the lawn towards my hell
Ready to give up my defeated fight

Poor thing oh dog
It’s all just my fault
I should have made him stay
I should have made him halt

Picking up the displaced head
The blood fled like an endless waterfall
Snakes of flesh wrapping my hands
All that I had left to do now was to run away and crawl

Yes, I had to crawl away in my silent world with no company anymore
But little did I know, that God would let
Me and my dog start over again
He gave me the chance of a lifetime to reunite with my little pet

Poor thing oh dog
It’s all just my fault
I should have made him stay
I should have made him halt

He took my life in a tragic way
That you might have been told of
He got a young man to do his job
He got a young man to take me far off

He got a young man to crash into me
The same way someone did with my dog
He left me with car tracks down my back
He took away the light of my eyes and left me in a venomous fog

Poor thing oh dog
It’s all just my fault
I should have made him stay
I should have made him halt

The last thing I remember
Is seeing a man still as stone beside me
Apologizing for what he didn’t need to
Apologizing for bringing me back to my dog

Love can be so innocent at times
People ready to give their life
So don’t break the chain of love
With your heart as brutal as a knife

Or you will regret all your mistakes
Without a chance to apologize
You will have to pay for it with time
And watch the dead victim as he unresponsively lies

Poor thing oh dog
It’s all just my fault
I should have made you stay
I should have made you halt

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

